The farmer and his plough…

Yesterday, as part of the PGS program I was traveling through Naples, Italy and went to an ancient Roman theater on the edge of the city. There I had the opportunity to read the following poem on the main stage…

Georgics 2 (lines 513-522)

“The farmer cleaves the earth with his curved plough

This is his yearlong work, thus sustains

His homeland, thus his little grandchildren,

His herds and trusty bullocks. Never a Pause!

The seasons teem with fruits, the young of clocks,

Or sheaves of Ceres’s corn; they load the furrows

And burst and barns with produce. Then, come winter,

The olive press is busy; sleek with acorns

The pigs come home; the arbutes in the woods

And high on sunny terraces of rock

The mellow vintage ripens.” – Virgil

This was a pretty amazing moment of my day! Knowing that as a participant of this program, I was at least partially removed from my normal thoughts of agriculture production, education, and development, but that what I have been learning as part of this program is relevant to my future career and has proven to be full of wonderful experiences in general. I needed this reminder of how SPECTACULAR agriculture really is!!!

6 thoughts on “The farmer and his plough…

  1. Glad to hear you reading Virgil! The Georgics is a great poem, with one of my all time favorite classical stories: Orpheus and Eurydice. That part of the Georgics is one of the reasons I am a classicist today.

    And glad to hear about your connection with your passion, your exigence. J.J. is right about the connectedness of things. And he is right that you need to blog about agriculture one of these days.

    • That is very interesting that, that section of the Georgics is why you became a classicist!

      I will work on doing a blog about agriculture soon. I already have thought of a few different ideas.

  2. Short comment: On this trip I keep coming back to the connectedness between all things. I think that, somewhat paradoxically, everyone relates to this connectedness in their own way. Your way is agriculture. I could go into how agriculture connects you to everything, but I’m not sure I could every describe it with the passion and authenticity with which you describe. I hope one day you blog about what Agriculture means to you.

    • Thank you very much J.J.! Your kind words are very encouraging!

      I agree with you that one’s ability to connect is really the key in a program like this! Connecting seemingly unrelated ideas, materials, and experiences, in my opinion, often creates that “ahh-ha” moment later down the road in a much more meaningful and powerful way than thinking within the same groupings of thought can.

      A blog about agriculture will happen before the semester, possibly as we begin work on our exigency essays.

  3. Reading poetry in that theater was definitely one of the more memorable events so far in Naples! Oh, and I caught your reading on camera – I’ll try and upload it to Facebook as soon as I can.

Your Thoughts?

